D.C. LaRue

D.C. LaRue

D.C. LaRue’s first recording was the 1974 Kirshner Records single “Honey Bear (The Good Time’s Right Here).” A second one-off single, 1975’s “Move In Closer,” was on the Claridge Records imprint. The following year his breakthrough came with the now legendary 1976 album Ca-the-drals. The Pyramid Records album rose to #-123 on “Billboard’s Hot 200″ The double A-side 12” single of “Ca-the-drals” (backed with fellow artist/drummer Pat Lundy’s “Day By Day/My Sweet Lord”) was one of the earliest commercially available 12″ singles. “Ca-the-drals/Deep Dark Delicious Night” would hit #-1 on “Billboard’s Dance Music/Club Play Singles” chart. “Ca-the-drals” would also hit #-2 on “Billboard’s Disco Singles” chart and #-94 on “Billboard’s Hot 100” chart.


In less than a year he began work on his second album, The Tea Dance. The 1977 concept album capturing the essence and feel of a Broadway show featured such notable background singers as Lani Groves and Sharon Redd. It also included a duet with 1960s rock/pop icon Lou Christie on “Don’t Keep It In The Shadows.” The tracks: “Face Of Love,” “Overture,” “O Ba Ba (No Reino Da Mae Do Ouro),” “Indiscreet” and “Don’t Keep It In The Shadows” would all chart at #-2 on “Billboard’s Dance Music Club Play Singles” chart. “Indiscreet” would go one to become one of the more important and influential hip hop break tracks of the old skool hip hop eras.

Despite the brisk sales of both of LaRue’s albums Pyramid Records folded operations in the USA in 1978. With the success of those albums he was easily licensed as one of the first artits to Casablanca Records & Filmworks in 1978. His first release on his new label was “Do You Want The Real Thing?” The single was included on the platinum selling soundtrack album for the movie Thank God It’s Friday. That same year saw LaRue release his third album Confessions. Once again he scored a hit with “Let Them Dance” which hit #-12 on “Billboard’s Dance Music/Club Play Singles” chart. Also in 1978 LaRue had a cameo in movie Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band with the Bee Gees and Peter Frampton.

In 1979 he released his fourth album Forces Of The Night, produced by Donna Summer arranger Bob Esty. The singles “On With The Dance” (a duet with Michelle Aller) and “Hot Jungle Drums And Voodoo Rhythm” were released and the album charted at #-72 on “Billboard’s Dance Music/Club Play Singles” chart. The album also featured a duet with Rita Moreno on “Have A Good Time.” “Hot Jungle Drums And Voodoo Rhythm” was also included on the platinum selling compilation A Night At Studio 54.


In 1980 he released his fifth and final album Star Baby. The album retained the spark and ingenuity that had been prevalent in his earlier releases. The album featured another duet with Lou Christie “Into The Ozone” and the 12″ single of “So Much For L.A.”/”Boys Can’t Fake It.”

In 2006 his “Ca-the-drals” was sampled in England on the track “3 AM” by Moto Blanco (Bobby Blanco & Miki Moto.) The highly successful track would introduce LaRue and his music to a whole new generation. That same year LaRue released Wicked Youth (Selected Performances 1976-1984) from his own website. Besides rare edits of his previous hits the disc also included the previously mentioned “3 AM,” “Good Morning, My Love” (with The Boys Choir Of Harlem), “Love Can Make You Strong” (another duet with Lou Christie previously unreleased) and “Edge Of The Night” (with Adam Goldstone.) In 2010, LaRue recorded the new track “Crash And Burn” for the Ian Levine produced compilation album Northern Soul: 2010.

In February 2012, LaRue returned with “More Things Change.” A NuDisco genre track he did with artist/producer Jimmy Michaels. As of 2012 LaRue has been the host of his own radio show “Disco Juice” on Newtown Radio. Tributes, themed shows as well as interviews of famed disco artists are his format on the Saturday night show.
In 2018 he teamed up with legendary producer Joey Negro, Idjut Boys and Ron Basejam for the remix albums “Resurrection Part One And Two”, which became a seven weeks #1 on the global “traxsource” charts.

At the same time production took place for “Revelation” with golden records awarded “Billboard” producer Chris Cowley remixed by Techno legend Michael Kruse and “Beatport” TOP 10 artist of the year and “Defected” remixer Babert, as well as Jandry,Paul Goodyear`s San Fran Disko, B.Infinite & Chris Cowley. The album- which is scheduled for spring 2019 on KHB MUSIC-includes reworks of the tracks “Don`t Be Afraid Of The Dark” and “It Makes Me Believe In Love Again” as well as “Hot Jungle Drums And Voodoo Rythm”

Photography by Aaron Cobbett, N.Y.C.





Group Page